Award Programs | Centre for Veterinary Education

Award Programs

The Centre for Veterinary Education has a long-standing tradition of supporting the veterinary profession and recognising the achievements of selected individuals.

Through three different awards, the CVE recognises veterinary students who have displayed competency in their clinical skill; graduate veterinarians who have made a major contribution to continuing veterinary education; and candidates who have excelled in their ANZCVS membership examinations in small animal surgery.


T. G. Hungerford Award

The T.G. Hungerford award was instituted on the retirement of Dr T.G. Hungerford OBE in recognition of his enormous contribution to the veterinary profession and its continued development.

The Hungerford Award continues to honour the tradition of recognising excellence in continuing veterinary education.

So splendid is their performance they adorn the awards for excellence now conferred upon them.

T.G. Hungerford

Clinical Competency Award

Each year the CVE asks each Faculty or School of Veterinary Science in Australia and New Zealand to select a suitable recipient of the CVE Clinical Competency Award.

The prize of $1,000 credit towards CVE continuing professional development is offered to the graduating student who has been recognised by their instructors as being the most competent in clinical skills over the clinical portion of the veterinary course.

Paul Gotis-Graham Award

Paul Gotis-Graham (1967-2014) was an inspirational veterinary surgeon with a special interest in surgery. 

He was involved with the CVE over many years, both as a Member of Council and occasionally as a consultant. Paul was an Honours graduate from the University of Sydney and enjoyed teaching and mentoring his colleagues. In 2011-12 he returned part-time to his alma mater to teach anatomy to undergraduate students with a particular emphasis on the relevance of anatomy to surgery.